Former Teacher to Lead Education Department

January 18, 2022

Premier Heather Stefanson has shuffled her cabinet, moving Wayne Ewasko, MLA for Lac du Bonnet into the role of education minister.

In his previous career, Ewasko spent 17 years as a teacher and guidance counsellor in the Sunrise School Division. He received the Teacher of Distinction Award from Brandon University in 2008 and, in 2012, was presented with the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal.

Ewasko has served as an MLA for more than 10 years but has limited cabinet experience. Prior to this appointment, his only cabinet post was as Minister of Advanced Education, Skills and Immigration for one year (Jan. 5, 2021 -Jan. 18, 2022).

Government of Manitoba News Release on Cabinet Shuffle